It’s official: I published a book!

It is nearly impossible to keep your values and passions out of the other parts of your life. In fact, whatever work you do, you will be so much more energized if you include your passions and what you care about.

For example, in my teaching career I have been able to weave in my environmental and writing passions through projects, poetry units, field trips, and performances. In my non-profit work, I have been able to weave in my passion for teaching by involving local schools. And in my parenting, everything comes together at once, especially when we are exploring and adventuring outside. And now my passion for gardening and nature has been woven into my first children’s book.

My childhood dream was to one day publish a book. Why? Because my fourth grade teacher said I could. He made me see my growth and potential and was a champion for my learning. That’s when the fire started. And now I have made it happen in my mid-thirties. It is never too late to fulfill your dreams.

I give you: Cornelius the Dragon. A gardening dragon who would rather plant flowers than keep a princess locked in a tower for eating the wrong breakfast food. I love this story so much – truly, and what it means to me is the importance of staying true to yourself, and not forgetting or neglecting what brings you joy or makes you feel authentically you.

I am overjoyed that I made this happen, and especially when I read my own book to my children for the first time. I feel pride and joy. And I know this is an example for my kids to show them they can make things happen.

And so I send Cornelius off into the world. I appreciate all the support and encouragement I’ve been given, and the time others have gifted me. Please support me on this new journey.

Find my book online now: https://books.friesenpress.com/store/title/119734000204719423

If you are local to the Kootenays, stay tuned for local purchasing options (because it’s so good to support local).

In love and compost and dragon wings,

Nadine

2 comments

Leave a comment