Spring weather and planting

This spring has been particularly rainy and mild – and I’m ALL for it (because #gingerproblems). It certainly will help with our wildfire season as well.

However, it has sure thrown us, the gardeners, for a loop! Rushing to cover plants, continuing our exercise regime of moving transplants indoors and outdoors, waiting to plant the more sensitive crops, and observing slow growth in new plants.

I have really enjoyed not having to water new seeds as often because we have had consistent rain. But I have noticed a big difference in growth, and I’m not even finished with all of my planting!

Of course, some crops can go in the ground even before the suggested “last frost date”, such as kale, broccoli, onions, peas, and spinach. These kinds of crops enjoy cooler temperatures, and were the first I put in the ground (if you don’t count the garlic planted in the fall).

I’m still waiting to transplant cucumbers, and have not yet moved my tomatoes into bigger pots to stand outside.

I have been able to harvest a small amount of greens and chives. My strawberry “patch” was also showing excellent growth… until a BUCK got into our backyard and beheaded them all. Stay tuned on battles with wildlife.

How have you found the start of the growing season in the Kootenays? What is going well? What surprised you?

In love and compost,

Nadine

2 comments

Leave a comment