WRW Canada: Textiles

There is a reason I wrote an article for Kootenay Living magazine entitled: Sustainable Fashion in the Kootenays.  A few years ago I watched the True Cost documentary, and while I thought I knew a lot about the “fast fashion” world, it gave a deeper look into this dirty industry, and the problem with us supporting it how we are.  I began rethinking fashion, analyzing my wardrobe, and thinking of how I could change my impact.  I was further inspired when I participated in an Instagram challenge called #spring10x10 by practicing making my clothes go further.

While learning about sustainable fabrics, microfibers from our clothing, and namely how workers of big fashion companies are treated, I had a complete mindset shift.  Textile waste is CRAZY, for lack of a better word.  It is a huge global pollutant, on land and in water.

This year was the first time I heard the term “single-use” be used referring to fashion.  I somehow was shocked even after everything I have learned about the industry.  Single-use?!  But it’s true!  Millions of people buy a piece of clothing just to wear it once.  And then what happens to it?  Well, either we pass it on, or we toss it out.  And then what?  This could include Halloween costumes, wedding or formal attire, or an outfit for a themed party.  We don’t even seem to think twice anymore.  Well, I certainly do now to be part of the Fashion Revolution (i.e. Who made my clothes?!).

So, I as one person, have done the following.  Whether you think it is significant or not, I feel like I am making a difference just by changing how I choose my clothing:

  1. I analyzed my entire wardrobe, removing pieces I had worn only once in the last year or two or three.  Everything else was re-homed, either by giving away to friends, participating in a clothing swap, giving to a women’s resource center, or selling on local Buy & Swap pages.
  2. I got rid of pieces I only kept for sentimental reasons.  Not saying I would ever get rid of my grandfather’s wool jacket, but let’s say a family member once bought me a T-Shirt.  Somehow I connected the material item to have meaning on my relationship with that person.  I worked on letting go of that, because holding onto clothes without wearing them is a waste of resources.  Someone somewhere can get use out of that T-Shirt.
  3. My new “style” would be versatility in sustainability.  In other words, I would only buy pieces that could be worn in various ways, in various seasons or occasions, and weren’t focused on one current trend (ie florals – I totally love florals, but I wouldn’t call that versatile).
  4. I buy what I need, and do my damndest to avoid impulse fashion buys.  This year I have purchased two pieces of clothing, and I likely will not buy any more.  One was a linen dress by amazing local designer We Are Stories.  The other a pair of pants from Free Label.
  5. I research what I need.  There is always a more sustainable alternative and it is my responsibility to find it.  While it might be easy just to order it online from a trendy giant, I’d rather buy something that I will value and wear for a long time.
  6. I buy local whenever possible.  I try to find clothing that was made as close to me, geographically, as possible.  That way I am supporting small business and our local economy, and know that the item has not traveled far to get to me, reducing emissions and transportation resources.  If I can’t find it local, I look province-wide; if I can’t find it there, I look to national Canadian companies.
  7. I buy from companies that share my values.  The textile industry is anything but transparent.  So when local, or further, companies share their practices, and how they are going against “fast fashion”, they become someone I would support.  Here is a list of some promising companies I have found.
  8. I stick to my values in fashion: sustainability and ethics.
  9. I find ways to mend pieces that need a little TLC.
  10. I buy used clothing.  This clothing is already in rotation, and there are excellent quality items out there that could be just what I need.  The resources already went into those garments, and much of it is thrown away if it cannot be moved fast enough (due to us often overloading thrift, charity, and second-hand stores with our impulse buys).

Clothing!  We need it!  And we can make it more sustainable.  I’d like to also mention that in order for our clothing to go further, to be more versatile and timeless, we must care for it properly.  Please see my post on reducing laundry waste for that topic!

How does your wardrobe reflect your values?

3 comments

  1. We moved full time into a van and it was a shock how much clothing we had. Saved the timeless stuff , donated the rest .To be fair most of our clothes we had forever and a good portion was 2nd hand. We will now be wearing our items out before replacing with others.
    I remember your article, it was quite enjoyable.
    Shannon

    Like

    • Thanks for commenting, Shannon! Timeless is the way to go. Many years ago I had to downsize the closet as well, and last year I had quite the wardrobe epiphany. It has been quite fun to reduce what I have, make more of the clothes I already have, and being very specific with what I need to buy if one thing wears out!

      Like

Leave a comment