the moments that are

It is easy to get caught up in the grossness of the world, and especially as someone who strives for zero-waste and is conscious of every piece of garbage that lands in the house bin, I can easily get frustrated and angry at the over-consumption and wasteful habits of others.  Some may call this lifestyle extreme, but I simply think I am doing my job to fulfill my environmental responsibility.  The Earth and its elements are the only reason we are alive and we are destroying it piece by piece.

I see it every day.  Headlines of pipelines, people protesting to protect land and water being attacked, oil spills.  I see it in others’ habits, like using disposable cutlery as a daily use item, or those who do not compost or recycle or do anything for the planet that could compromise convenience.  I see it every where I go, including out in the wilderness where a coffee cup was abandoned in a brush or a granola bar wrapper is caught in a stream.  It is easy to become overwhelmed, throw up your hands, and say what is the point.

But yesterday I was walking along, alone, briskly through the snow, the wind lapping at my face, and my brain consumed with thoughts of life; the tasks behind me, the tasks ahead, the items on the checklist, the carelessness of others.  I am going to get real poetic now because it was as if Mother Earth heard me and my brain and wanted to give me a reality check.  I was so caught up in my thoughts I was not even taking in the landscape, so Mother Earth said, “Slow down, child.  And look.

A hole had formed in the grey mass of clouds above me and shone onto the hill I was walking down.  The winter grass glowed golden, the trees were alive and green, and I stopped immediately, nearly tripping over my own feet.  I looked across the valley and saw a frozen blue lake in the distance, snow powdering the tips of the mountain range, crows flying overhead, and a river that has over time carved itself through the land, meandering this way and that.  The Earth is alive.  And I was missing it.  And then I remembered that this is why I do what I do and why every action you take matters.

I love my home.  And I am alive.

5 thoughts on “the moments that are

  1. We were walking in the Mountains yesterday and had the same feeling and also a realisation that unless people see what nature has to offer why would they try to protect it. My thoughts now turn to finding ways to show people the beauty of nature and to give them a reason to change their habits. I don’t think people mean to damage the planet the way they do. When you show them the damage and then a way to change, this is what makes the difference.

    Like

Leave a Reply

