And We Are Out of Resources Already: Earth Overshoot Day 2016

At Waste Not Want Not, Marguerite has done a great job to create a different perspective on how much of our resources we are using up, and that this is not a sustainable action. We need to think of future generations, think of the big picture, or there will be nothing left. Had to reblog this!

waste not want not

A slightly hypothetical situation:

Every day I am out and about for the afternoon between lunch and dinner. Since I can barely go 2+ hours without eating, I know to always pack some snacks in my bag. The longer I am out between meals, the more snacks I know I need to bring. Say I have an apple tree that I use to supply my snacks for in between meals, and I am only able to snack on what my apple tree produces. If my apple tree produces 365 apples, then it would be logical to have only one pre-dinner snack every day of the year.

A not-so-logical and gluttonous way to handle my hungry/hangry situation would be to eat more than one apple per day, fully knowing I will run out before the end of the year.

Well, we as inhabitants of Earth have been handling our resources in a…

View original post 223 more words

Leave a Reply

