9 Tips for a Successful Plastic Free July

With Plastic Free July just around the corner (yay horray!), I am gearing up for a successful round 2 of this awesome awareness campaign. I am hoping more people take on the challenge, including some of my friends and family (hint hint). Some people may be stumped or need some tips to get started. I came across this post from Zero Waste Chef, which I will share with you now to get you started. Good luck on your Plastic Free July challenge! Share your experiences here 🙂

8 thoughts on “9 Tips for a Successful Plastic Free July

  1. Ok, Nadine, I did it, I signed up. You inspire me :). I’m nervous but excited haha. Not sure if I can solidly do the entire month, but I’m looking forward to making a start anyways and being mindful about it throughout the month. Thank you for this post!

    Like

    • You will be great! I’m going on a road trip with Yvonne so it will be difficult to avoid plastic while away from my house, but I will give it a go. Did you go full no plastic or are you doing the 4 major ones (straws, bags, to-go cups, and bottles)?

      Like

  2. Hi Nadine, nice post. I was not aware of it, thanks! I am generally trying to do this at home and will use the tips to make a bigger effort this month. Lately I have also been thinking about how much plastic used in packaging is not recyclable, such a waste!

    Like

  3. Hi Nadine. This is a great challenge! Thanks for reposting. I’ve been in Europe for over a month now and am impressed with their grocery stores- charge for plastic bags and often carry recycled paper bags for bagging groceries. Wish the States implemented more of these ideas.
    Love your blog!

    Like

    • Thanks for your kind comment! I wish Canada would implement more of Europe’s ideas too. They seem to be ahead in their “green” thinking, not just with the plastic bags and offering zero-waste stores, but also in their sustainable energy practices. Not sure why it’s taking so long for us to follow suit! Are you in EU for travels or are you living there now?

      Like

      • Loving your passion, Nadine! I am traveling in the EU for a few months. As you said, they (Western EU) are definitely ahead with the green initiatives.

        Like

  4. Pingback: The Plastic Free July Challenge – PlantsNotPlastic

Leave a Reply

