Liebster Award Nomination

liebsteraward-roses-tag

The other day I received an uplifting comment from Lorelei @ Life of Lorelei.  Not only did she praise my post on minimalism, but she also nominated me for the Liebster Award.  Being a complete newbie at blogging (maybe not complete, but I’ve only been at it for a year), I had seen this before, but did not fully understand it.  With some research and Lorelei explaining it a bit more, I found it to be a great way to recognize new bloggers.

When I started blogging one year ago, I did it for me, and my intention was never to share it with my friends or family.  Why?  Because I was afraid of judgement.  I was afraid I would be labeled, made fun of, and judged for my choices.  I started thinking of why I was blogging and what I was trying to achieve.  What I really wanted to do was share my journey, and share my experiences in the hopes that someone out there will be inspired by this lifestyle and start to make some changes in their own lives.  This was for the good of the planet after all, so…

I put on my big-girl pants and now I post each of my posts to Facebook to share it with my friends and family.  I also e-mail my posts to my father, who is actually excited to read on this topic, especially my post about water.  So far, no public judgement 🙂

So thank you, Lorelei, for nominating me and for reading and finding my blog relatively interesting and valuable.  Here now to answer your questions:

  1. How did you decide on your blog name?

It was relatively simple. I wanted to blog about zero waste, so I wanted to incorporate ZERO into the name. This is a personal journey for me with its successes and challenges, so hence it became my Zero Journey, and so it will stay.

  1. What is your favorite movie?

I have many. I always thought I could not pick my top, but this is one that has stood out above the rest for many years. “Water” directed by Deepa Mehta.  Incredible.

  1. If you could travel anywhere in the world, where would it be?

New Zealand always topped my list, but I am traveling there for the first time this summer, so I should pick a new #1.  I was born in Germany, so have traveled a lot of Europe already.  I have never been to Portugal, and I have not seen a lot of my home country either, so I guess those two would be at the top of the list.

  1. What is your most prized possession?

I recently blogged about material possessions and my changing relationship with them. Can I call my cat a possession?  That does not feel right to me.  I guess I like my bicycle and my kayak a whole lot.

  1. Who is the biggest influence in your life?

My sister.  Can I get a what-what from people with siblings?  She’s my soulmate and my everything-person.  Also, my Oma because she is our cornerstone.

  1. What is your favorite quote, whom is it by, and why?

“Actions speak louder than words”; this has been meaningful to me in many different aspects of life, even green living.  It is easy to say we should do something about climate change, but it is a whole ‘nother to act on it and be the change.

Also, I came upon one this week: “The Earth has music for those who will listen”.  This just reiterates my love for nature, and my undying hope that the world will show nature the respect it deserves.  It is the only reason we are alive!

  1. What is your favorite activity for the days when you’re sad?

I am trying to think back to a time I was sad.  I suppose I like to surround myself with friends, or do something active.  My body and mind respond well to that.

  1. What is your favorite blog post that you’ve written?

Project Awareness: Part 2. This is a classroom project I did with my Grade 7s and something I am very proud of, as the topic was waste reduction, environmental awareness, and zero waste.  We started this project during Waste Reduction Week last October, and even our fellow bloggers were featured in it.  It was AWESOME.

  1. Who inspires you the most?

There are certain girlfriends of mine who say just the right things in the right moments. I’m inspired by their passions, their educational philosophies, their love of nature, their capacity of gratitude, their personal journeys, and their success stories.  They inspire me with their emotions, dreams, humour, and goals.

  1. Why do you blog?

To raise awareness and to spread inspiration. I think waste reduction and climate action are more relevant now than ever, and I want to share ways that I am doing what I can to leave a better Earth for upcoming generations. Sometimes people are unsure where to start, so my hope is that at some point I spark some inspiration, just as I had my spark a couple of years ago from the Clean Bin Project.

My nominations:

  1. Green with It
  2. Paint this City Green
  3. Waste not Want not
  4. Misses Hippie
  5. Life without Litter
  6. All you need is love in the Kootenays
  7. babystepsgoinggreen
  8. the British Vegan Student
  9. No Harm No Waste
  10. Living Lightly

My questions:

  1. What are you passionate about?
  2. Why did you start blogging?
  3. How has your blog been received, and how do you feel about it?
  4. Who or what inspires you?
  5. If you could give someone advice on how to live a happier life, what would you tell them?
  6. Describe your favourite place.
  7. List five words that describe you, or five of your interests.
  8. Describe a dream you have in life.
  9. If you could fix one problem in the world, what would it be?
  10. How do you live more green?

Thanks again, Lorelei, for the nomination.  I have heard some refer to the Liebster as a chain letter, so I apologize if it annoys anyone.  I think it is worthwhile!

K, BAI!

3 thoughts on “Liebster Award Nomination

Leave a Reply

